Quinoa-WOW!

As my fructose malabsorption has given me a food sensitivity to wheat, spelt and kamut, I have been trying to look on it as an opportunity to expand my grain horizons. Quinoa, however, has proved intimidating. Don’t know why really. The local co-op deli usually has some kind of cold quinoa salad that I always end up liking, and my mother has been making tabouli salad with quinoa FOREVER.

Well, last time I was wandering through the health food store I picked up a “brand name” packet of quinoa. I’d always seen it in bulk before with no instructions or guidance. This had the directions of how to cook it on the box and handy-dandy recipe suggestions…..and it just clicked for me!

One cup of quinoa to two cups of water in a pot – cover and bring to boil, then reduce to simmer until all water is gone.

That’s rice.

I can cook rice!!!!

The last two rice dishes I’ve done now – a spicy Spanish Rice thing and rice & chili, I substituted half the rice with quinoa. Just put them in the pot together and cooked them together with salt and pepper and butter in the water.

Came out a DREAM! My sweetie liked it too! YAY!!

If you eat rice, try quinoa – just throw some in with your rice. It cooks at the exact same rate, in the exact same way.

Happy, happy,

AVT

8 responses to “Quinoa-WOW!

  1. Thanks! Great idea! Do you rinse your quinoa first? Some people say you have to rinse it to get out the bitterness…did you find that to be true?

  2. I was just reading a story on High Fructose Corn Syrup at school. http://www.themarketingscene.com/index.php/site/topic/hi_fructose/

    Hey it is not good for you!

  3. Hi Lisa!
    Love your blog and website!

    I’ve never heard that about quinoa. I didn’t rinse it or anything, just chucked it in with the rice.
    I found it tasted great – a delicate, slightly nutty flavour.

    Since my post I have also done a rice and corn casserole with a cheese sauce and I added quinoa to that as well. Worked out great!
    :)
    AVT

  4. You’re right, Suzi! Definately not good for you!

    I understand HFCS is a big problem down in the States. It’s not used so much here in Canada, though you do find it in some things. most soft drinks and processed food here still uses sugar (sucrose), which is not problematic for fructmals in reasonable amounts.
    :)
    AVT

  5. I love your blog! I’m slowly adjusting to living with fructose malabsorption and it’s been a tough journey.

    Quinoa has been a life-saver for me too! One of my favorite ways to cook it is to add diced/sauteed red and green bell peppers and garlic to it as a side dish. Thanks for your handy tips!

  6. Thanks for the recipe and the compliment, Lauren!

    Have you seen my fructmal website?

    It’s currently at fructmal.googlepages.com
    though I will (hopefully) soon have it’s replacement up! A “real” site with my own “dot-com” domain name!

    Do you have a blog?

    Stay in touch!
    AVT

  7. I am so glad I found this site I could cry. I will be spending many hours here. I knew I couldn’t eat wheat and onions and garlic … and just recently learned all ’bout the whole fructose/sorbitol etc. thing. I guess everybody has a different path out of … well, hell.
    I love you!
    Lisa Anne

  8. Wow! Thanks Lisa Anne!

    Welcome to the site! If there’s anything you’d like to see either here at my blog, or at the fructmal googlepages site, let me know….I’m trying to get a major revamp of the googlepages site up and running!

    Keep visiting! :)
    AVT

Leave a Reply

