Tendonitis Starting to abate!

With my first experience of tendonitis abating, I have to say that though I miss crocheting – I NEVER want this to happen again!! I will refrain from crocheting for as long as needed to make sure my wrist and arm are TOTALLY healed!

I have gone to physiotherapy twice a week for almost a month now, and have another appointment on Tuesday. I am being diligent with my three times daily cold packs, and now have twice daily arm exercises and once daily upper back exercises to add. The ultrasound treatments and electric stimulation have really made a huge difference. I’m also pleased that my extended medical (through my employer) covers it all. It’s really an excellent plan considering I’m a part-time employee.

The weather has been wildly fluctuating between heavy snow and rainy spring-like weather (though our place is at too high an elevation to have experienced any real melting. Our yard still has several feet of snow).

I recently received an advanced copy of an upcoming gluten-free cookbook that my aunt’s friend is writing. Her name is A. Leach and she’s from Fort St. James, British Columbia. She has generously given me permission to post a few recipes! As soon as I get word that the book is published I’ll post about it! The recipes include wheat-free cream puffs, pastries, cinnamon rolls, and more!

My first attempt involved some substitutions – only because I was having a chocoholic attack and needed to work with what I had in the cupboard. I can say that the recipe turned out fantastic even with the substitutions, so it’s a resiliant recipe!

CHOCOLATE MUFFINS

¾ cup corn flour (I had to use sorghum flour)
½ cup glutinous rice flour (also called “sweet” rice flour & it IS safe for gluten-free diets)
½ cup white rice flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1 tsp xantham gum
1 Tbsp baking powder (be aware some baking powders have gluten)
½ tsp salt
¾ cup white sugar (I had to use ¼ cup raw turbinado sugar & ½ cup golden sugar)

1 cup milk
1 egg
1 egg white
1/3 cup oil (I used canola)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips

Mix dry ingredients together. Stir in liquids. Add chocolate chips.
Bake at 350F 15-20 minutes,or until they spring back when lightly touched.

I used paper muffin cup liners and stretched the batter out to make 18 cupcakes. If you like very full muffin cups, the batter would make 12. These were delicious and chocolatey! AND… most important to me, my hubby LOVED them. My sweetie has no problem with wheat, so when he’ll eat a gluten-free treat – even though he doesn’t “have” to, I know it’s good! Baking without wheat may be more expensive, but I don’t want to be getting into “his” and “hers” treats.

I’m sorry I’ve been off the computer, but if my arm keeps healing I will be able to keep up now!

:)
Ariana

10 responses to “Tendonitis Starting to abate!

  1. I certainly hope that the physiotherapy works to keep your tendonitis away.

    I do want to share, however, that no matter how much you rest, rest does not cure tendonitis, nor reverse the tendonitis dynamic.

    For a long explanation, you may want to check out
    http://www.TendonitisExpert.com/rest.html

    The muffins sound great! I just might have to try that recipe.

    Joshua

  2. Alexandria Golding

    Waiting patiently for a message from my dear friend, Ariana… you forget to go on the computer latley or what? Still no message from the other comment I made…please get facebook??????

  3. First off, I want to thank you for all of the work you have put into posting information about Fructose malabsorption. The information you have on your site has helped me so much to understand what is going on with my body. Thank you!

    Secondly, the muffin recipe is awesome! I have tried many different gluten free recipes and most of them have been terrible! My boys (ages 9,7 and 4) know that if the food is a gluten free experiment, to avoid it! I made these muffins and when they got home from school, they each ate two! They still have no idea that the chocolate ‘cupcakes’ are gluten free! Yea! It is so nice to find a fun recipe that is friendly to everyone!

    Thank you, again, for all of your work on the website. I truly appreciate all of your help!

  4. Hi! I am thoroughly enjoying your writing in all areas, but especially in the area of fructose malabsorption.

    To keep this brief, my hydrogen breath test came back positive about 4 years ago. My doctor treated me with antibiotics followed by probiotics. I did not feel better. We recently tried the whole regime again, still with no positive results. My wheat allergy/celiac tests were negative. Now my doctor wants to put me on a drug called amitiza for gastrointestinal distress. It has some pretty nasty side effects, and I just don’t want to do it. (I also have fibromyalgia, so I feel uncomfortable most of the time anyway.)

    I want to try the elimination diet that you suggest, but find myself overwhelmed with so many questions. Maybe you can help… Here they are:

    *Do you know anything about inositol? Since it ends in “-tol,” might it have the same bad effects as fructose?
    *Can I still consume milk if I think I’m not lactose intolerant? I enjoy chocolate soy milk the most , and it contains naturally evaporated cane juice. Is this sweetener okay?
    *Is it okay to consume recipes/foods that contain regular table sugar/brown sugar or should I substitute dextrose? Is regular white flour okay in small quantities? I have seen some supposedly fructose-free recipes containing all of the above ingredients, so I am confused.
    *When eating at a restaurant, do you request that your food be prepared without garlic and onions?
    *How can you know how much dextrose to consume in the case of accidental consumption of fructose (at a 1-to-1 ration) if you don’t know for sure how much fructose you have consumed? What is a small dosage?

    I just want to say thank you in advance for your help in this area. The sharing of your knowledge and your keen sense of humor have helped me to feel more hopeful about tackling this protocol and maybe getting a bit of my life back. You are a blessing!

    (I apologize if this message reaches you twice. Apparently, I did not fill out the above information correctly, and it looked as if I lost my initial message, so I tried it again.)

    • Hi Sharon!

      Thank you for your kind words! I have heard of the antibiotics/probiotics treatment before – I have to say – I am NOT a doctor – but I don’t know anyone who has done well with it. I have to say, I totally understand your hesitation regarding taking a prescription medication. I’m sure your doctor is doing his best, but this is a condition that a lot of doctors are still not well informed about. I don’t see anything wrong with trying to elimination diet first. If it TOTALLY doesn’t work, you can always go back and rethink the medicine thing, right? Again… NOT A DOCTOR!

      Inositol is a polyol (ends in a -tol). Yes, as a fructmal you will likely get a reaction.

      Milk has no fructose or fructans. Enjoy! Cane juice/white sugar/raw sugar/brown sugar are all forms of SUCROSE. One glucose molecule and one fructose molecule. Okay in moderation. What’s “moderation”? That is different for every fructmal sufferer. We each have to figure out our own tolerances. The idea behind the elimination diet is to stick to it brutal hardcore for 4 to 6 weeks (truly – the longer the better), then you will get to know what it feels like to be normal! Then introduce one thing at a time in small doses, paying careful attention. Give yourself a week before going onto something else because some foods have a delayed reaction and you don’t want to get confused about what food caused what reaction. Try to go down to zero sugar for the 4 to 6 weeks or as close to it as possible. Then, you can make it the first food you try “dialling up”. Me – I can have one teaspoon of raw sugar in my tea or coffee, 4 to 5 cups a day – plus the occassional bar of chocolate (no HFCS here in Canada). But everyone is different.

      The fructmal friendly recipes you have seen that contain wheat flour are either A) misinformed and don’t understand about the fructan chains in wheat/spelt/kamut or B) intended for people who have been on the brutal hardcore thing for 4 to 6 weeks and reintroduced wheat to find that they had a mild tolerance.
      Again, using myself as an example, I found that when I tried reintroducing wheat it had a VERY dramatic reaction – particularly in the emotional/depression area. After staying away from it religiously for over a year I recently tried having one half of a hot dog bun made with white flour. I still had a reaction, but it was milder.
      I don’t know ANY fructmal who can eat wheat/spelt/kamut with impunity, but it is possible to reacquire a tolerance to some degree – based on my and others’ experiences.

      Restaurants are a MINEFIELD. Again with the personal tolerances…. I have found my tolerance to onions is okay. I am especially tolerance of the green parts or green onions and of chives. My standby in restaurants are:
      Bacon and Eggs (not omelettes)
      Steak or Grilled Chicken and Potatoes (or Rice as long as it’s not pilaf)
      Salad with Shrimp or Grilled Chicken (not breaded) – ask for crewets of olive oil and vineger and use these along with the salt and pepper at the table to dress your salad. Onion in salad tends to be in large slices or chunks and easily picked out.

      The only way to know what is a small dose for YOU is your elimination diet reintroduction experiments. I carry dextrose tablets (available with the diabetic supplies at the pharmacy) rather than powdered dextrose/glucose. My tablets are about the size of half of a domino. LOL!! If I find out my iced tea has…say raspberry in it and I’ve already had about half the glass I would take two tablets. But you need to determine your own threshold. Generally though, I take an extra tablet when in doubt. Too much glucose does no damage.

      I hope that this info helps out! :)

  5. Hope your tendonitis is on the mend and that you’re able to enjoy crocheting once again!

    Keep blogging!

    Surfed on in here via your profile on Ravelry.

    And in keeping with my thread on CLF, I’ve given your blog a “thumbs up” and got it listed on StumbleUpon, so other folks can hopefully surf on in and enjoy your blog.

  6. Thanks Maven!

    I have some GORGEOUS Peruvian sockweight wool that has been calling to me in the sweetest, sweetest voice! ~sigh~

    Soon! :)
    AT

  7. To Sharon’s comment, and all.

    The medical tests for gluten intolerance/celiac are reliably unable to accurately test.

    The only effective test for gluten intolerance is to go off gluten entirely for 2 months, and then have a gluten meal and see what happens.

    It’s not very ‘medical’, but it is accurate.

    I’ve seen people go off gluten for two months, have a pizza that results in significant and immediate symptoms, and still say ‘No, I don’t think it’s gluten. Must be something else.’

    Check out the Gluten Sensitivity pages on http://www.easy-immune-health.com

    Lots of info and research on a host of issues caused by gluten intolerance/celiac.

  8. Hello there ! Great content. Havent seen a post in a while, so I hope that you can answer a question that I have. Have you ever found a good list of allowed flours for fructmals? Is sweet rice flour ok, for example. Also, the chocolote muffins look awesome, but I am not sure that they are fructose free (chocolate chips) Also, why did you use turbinado sugar and golden syrup? Arent those fructose?

    • Hello Anne-Marie!

      As I have mentioned, most fructmals can have small amounts of fructose as long as they consume an equal amount of glucose at the same time. No one knows why this is so, but it works for most of us.
      This doesn’t work with fructan chains like those in onions or wheat, but it works for fructose. It also doesn’t work in large doses, only small doses.
      Sucrose (which is table sugar, brown sugar, raw or turbinado sugar etc) is EXACTLY half fructose and half glucose, since it is composed of one molecule of each bonded together. For that reason, sucrose is – basically – fructose with our glucose “dose” built in!… Again, as long as the dose is small. What is small? That is up to each fructmal to determine themselves.
      The chocolate chips, turbinado sugar and golden syrup are sucrose. There is not a ton in the recipe and when you then divide it by the number of cupcakes (and you could certainly make “mini” cupcakes for more, smaller servings) the dose was plenty small enough for me.
      Again, we all have to determine our own tolerances.

      I hope that answers your questions! :)
      Ariana

Leave a Reply

