Fructose Malabsorption – dextrose experiment

Well, all my time lately has been taken up trying to negotiate through my new foodplan. I have Fructose Malabsorption Disorder and now that I am in contact with others and some research-based hard data, I can finally start thoroughly removing all my problem foods – foods I didn’t know contained fructose! Wheat, spelt, kamut, artichokes, onions, shallots, leeks, wax beans, as well as all fruit products, fructose itself (naturally), sucrose (like table sugar, brown sugar, molassas, maple sugar, beet sugar), and any sweet stuff ending in -ol (like sorbitol).

As an avid baker, this is very frustrating! There are a lot of recipes out there for those who can’t have wheat, but they all have table sugar and/or brown sugar. The only sugar I can have without problem is dextrose (also known as corn sugar or glucose powder).

I haven’t been able to find many recipes at ALL baking with dextrose, so I did a little experiment this evening to get an idea of it’s sweetness compared to sugar: two mugs, each with one measuring cup of tea and a quarter of a cup of milk. I then put two teaspoons of unrefined granulated sugar (I don’t have any white sugar in the house – close enough) in one mug and put the same amount of dextrose in the other and tasted them. The dextrose one was still very bitter, so I upped the dextrose by 1/2 a teaspoon and tasted again. I continued this until they tasted the same….well that was the idea…but something curious happened.

The more dextrose I added, the more “dry mouth” I started to experience. It was quite pronounced by the time I reached 3 1/2 teaspoons. By 4 1/2 teaspoons, the dextrose side still wasn’t anywhere near as sweet as the two teaspoons of sugar and curiously, the richness of the milk was almost totally gone. It’s like I was tasting one cup with milk and sugar and cup with dextrose and no milk! This made comparison very difficult.

By the time I reached 6 teaspoons of dextrose, the sweetness was very similar but the milk issue was making certainty difficult. I started the experiment again, omitting the milk. The final result was the two teaspoons of table sugar (okay, unrefined sugar) is equal in sweetness to 6 1/2 teaspoons of dextrose with a very tiny shake of salt to tone down the tea’s bitterness.

The milk….perhaps using evaporated milk or 2 or 3% (I was using organic 1% milk) would rescue the lost creaminess.

All in all, a VERY enlightening experiment. I now know I’ll have to figure out a way to compensate in the recipes for the added bulk of all the extra dextrose. The creaminess issue and dry mouth may indicate I’ll have to up the liquids and maybe add more fat to a baked recipe.

hmmmmm….

🙂

AVT

………..what does this have to do with writing? Well, with this little info – I’m thinking COOKBOOK!! LOL!

14 responses to “Fructose Malabsorption – dextrose experiment

  1. What I want to know is how can I have lived for 64 years eating everything and only now find out I’m fructose intolerant – is this a side issue of something else going on or does it mean that as we get older we are less able to cope with the fructose intolerance? WOuld love to know what others think

  2. Hi Sandi
    check out sweetpoison.com.au and the book of the same name by David Gillespie. he can explain so much better than anyone.

  3. Hello Sandi
    I’ve just read Sweet Poison & replaced all sugar
    with dextrose (glucose) with pleasing affects.
    I feel less bloated, & noted some pleasing weight loss. I’m also interested in recipes using dextrose instead of white or raw sugar. perhaps experimenting is the only answer.
    cheers Barbara B.

  4. Actually I just finished sweet poison this evening and was out looking for dextrose recipes. I would love to know how it all worked out?

  5. YES!!!! AVT a cook book sounds fantastic. Im in the middle of reading Sweet Poison and searching for recipies but nothing much came up. I think your definitely onto something there lol. Good luck will be waiting with anticipation.

  6. Am interested in recipes for dextrose replacement. Will continue to check this site. Thanks.

  7. I have also finished reading sweet poison and am looking for recipes using dextrose. I think the idea is to become accustomed to eating foods that arent as sweet and getting rid of that addictive sweet tooth.

  8. How did you end up going? Thought I would add, that when you have eliminated as much fructose from your diet as possible, the sweetness of dextrose increases so that you can almost use it spoon for spoon… it is a strange phenomenon, but since going fructose free (after reading Sweet Poison), I find dextrose a great alternative to sugar… Oh, and I was out looking for recipes myself when i came across this 🙂

  9. Hi I also have read Sweet Poison and converted to a sugar free way of life. I have lost 5kgs and 10cm around my waist in 4 months. My husband has reduced his bad cholesterol and triglycerides by about 20% they were very high. we are trying to eat unprocessed foods where possible. It seems you do become less tolerant to sugars as you get older, I just turned 50 and have always been able to eat anything but as I approach menopause my stomach was noticeably larger, Its gone now. Also dextrose isn’t as sweet but as you eliminate sugar and fructose from your diet, your taste buds adapt to the lesser sweet taste and find it quite satisfying, so persist. you will crave less, not only sweets, but all snacks. Good luck

  10. I was recently diagnosed with Fructose Malabsorption. I just stumbled accross “Sweet Poison” online and I am looking forward to reading it. I am also searching online for glucose recipes since I also enjoy a baked treat every now and then. Since there doesn’t seem to be much out there, let me know if you make any discoveries! I am planning on trying to make brownies soon and I might use brown rice syrup until my dextrose sugar comes in the mail.

  11. I read Sweet Poison as well, it really is worthwhile. I don’t suffer fructose malabsorption but I am ridiculously addicted to sugar [or, was :)]; used to eat cake for breakfast, couldn’t have one lolly without eating an entire packet or two, same for cookies, etc. I’ve never had a problem with weight, but was always tired. Do the anti-fructose thing, it really is amazing. It’s only been one week without fructose, I’ve been eating more bread than ever but have no cravings for sugar (well, the occasional one does come, but I silence that with my new favourite snack – toasted gf bread with pesto and sundried tomatoes) and I’ve lost almost 2 kilos and have thrice as much energy as I did. Yahoo David

  12. My brownies tasted terrible. I also have had a bad reaction to the dextrose sugar. Not sure why, but I also have IBS and Acid Reflux in addition to FM. I have since made some pretty good scones and chocolate chip muffins using brown rice syrup.

  13. David Gillespie has now printed a follow up book “The Sweet Poison Quit Plan” which has recipes in the back.

Leave a Reply

