I hate that I love writing….

My novel is severely starting to frustrate me.

I’ve tried taking solace in new projects: a couple of short stories for a website, an entry in the Gilgamesh Press contest… but I don’t like staying away from it for too long.

I tried working on it another way… losing myself in background research, hammering out my timeline…. nothing. I even tried just PRINTING the damn thing ( as it is probably a BAD thing that none of my work has been printed out. A crash would be evil!), but my printer cartridges were dried out and dead! Aargh!

My sweetie got them going again – enough to print out a readable copy of my work (and he has set my computer to print out a test page every week to keep the ink good)… so now I’m hoping that old fashioned editing with a red pen will help me regain my focus.

It’s been said by someone famous enough for me to quote (but not famous enough for me to remember his/her name) that a blank page cannot be edited. In other words, write it out and don’t worry if it’s crap at first. Crap can be fixed.

Let’s hope so.

😦

AVT

5 responses to “I hate that I love writing….

  1. Don’t give up, write something, anything is better than nothing.

  2. Thanks for the kind words, mauthor!

    Your blogs are inspiring! Whenever I need motivation I shall visit!

    🙂
    AVT

  3. Thanks for visiting and you can comment on any post if you want. Hope you’re doing alright with your writing.

  4. The first sentence is usually the hardest. I echo what mauthor has stated. Just keep plugging away, I have faith that it will come. You are very talented.

  5. Thanks, rosiegirl!
    I’ve written a new page for the blog on my FructMal condition…there should be a clickable heading at the top of the page now.
    Thought it would get me back into the groove!
    🙂
    AVT

Leave a Reply

