Dad home from hospital and doing much better..

I would like to thank everyone for all their continued interest in my blog, and apologize for being missing in action. This time it has not been my tendonitis (which has actually been doing rather well), but real life that has kept me away…

My Dad went into the hospital with his fourth heart attack. He then had a fifth and sixth heart attack while in the hospital. Our community hospital decided to send him to a larger city centre, so he was ambulanced five hours to the nearest big city hospital.

He was supposed to get an angiogram and then an angioplasty… well after days and days of every test OTHER than an angiogram – they decided they need to do surgery on his three aneurysms!

He tried to explain that we’d addressed this issue years ago, and an expert in Vancouver had told him NEVER to have surgery…. but this was difficult for him to explain – he was head injured in 1979 and isn’t good with details, dates and those specific particulars that doctors like – AND he’s 75, so they didn’t listen to him and kept pressuring him that the aneurysms needed surgery and they were “pretty sure he’d be okay”!!! AAaaahh!

With none of us there, my family was communicating with doctors over the phone – Dad was alone there – they STILL hadn’t done the angiogram that had apparently been SOOOO important that they ambulanced him all that way for it….. it has been very stressful and anxious for all of us.

Dad finally said to blazes with all of it – I’m checking myself out of here and going home… my brother and his wife drove there to get him … and now he has nitro spray and a prayer!

Needless to say, my blog has received less attention. BUT! he’s home, he’s taking it easy, and everything’s going to be okay, right?

I am going to be responding to my backlog of comments as batches, and will respond to everyone in as timely a manner now as possible!

Thanks for your interest everyone,
AVT
🙂

9 responses to “Dad home from hospital and doing much better..

  1. The medical profession can be annoying to deal with. Unfortunately I’ve lost faith in them but feel helpless that I’m none the less at their mercy when things go wrong. Good for him for taking a decision and walking away. I hope he recovers quickly. Take care!

  2. Hi
    Sorry no-one has commented on this yet.
    Let me be the first to say…
    Sorry to hear about your dad. Parents are a worry aren’t they?!! I had lots of issues with my mum and her health last year. Hope you’re coping with it all, it is hard!
    Keep your chin up and hope your dad if feeling well.
    Cheers
    Hel from Hobart, Tasmania (AUST)

  3. Hi there – I follow your blog every now and then – its awesome!!!. I saw that you have struggled with tendonitis and I have a theory you may want to try. Because of FM, I started drinking diet powder mixes that contain Splenda. within a week, I experienced tendon pain in my forearms. Within one week of stopping the Sucralose, the tendonitis stopped. Some research on the web showed that muscle and tendon pain go along with Sucralose in many cases. Also, it was suggested that mega doses of Vitamin C help with inflammation and given that FM diet is so low in vitamin C, it might make sense to add extra to you vitamins. Onward!!! Thanks for all of your information on your site -keep up the great work!

  4. So sorry to bother you but seeing how you have so much experience with frucmal I thought you could possibly know if fructans, to a frucmal sufferer, could also block tryptophan from being absorbed or is it just fructose that does this. BTW thank you so much for this site it’s great. Take care, warm
    Regards Michael

  5. Hi there AVT,

    I’ve been following your site for approximately a year now, and have decided that it’s high time I lavish you with praise.

    Your website is scientific and informative, yet wonderfully informal and never boring.

    Hats off to you for conducting your research and for sharing it with us – you’ve genuinely changed my life for the better and it’s great to see that so many people are finding their way to your site. Thank goodness for rice, meat and beans!

    Warm regards from the United Kingdom,

    Jake

  6. Nicole Stevens

    Chick I love your blog. I just found out I have FM and this is honestly the 1st time I have been able to laugh about the situation. Thanks for a good chuckle.
    I have a question and was hoping you could help me out. I am super Irish and since St Paddy’s Day is around the corner I was hoping to have some corned beef and cabbage. (Nothing like boiled meat to celebrate the holiday, especially since I can’t have the green beer now 🙂 I don’t know if I can eat the corned beef and the label on it says “spices” not very helpful. Have you had any experience with this. Can I eat corned beef?

  7. Hello there. Was very interested in your stories about Fructose malabsorption. I recently had a colonoscopy and gastroscopydue to continuing issues with, as you describe them, piranhas. I wanted to rule out qnything like cancer. Thankfully all was good. The gastroenterolohist and I spoke about the foods that I seem to react to and she suggested I go on a low fructose diet. She also suggested since react to many things like broccoli and cauliflower and bread to go on a low FODMAP diet. Now, when cross referencing the two, I now have no more dilemmas about what to buy as the list is quite short! But there are amny foods that there seems to be no reference to. Anyway, I have stuck to it for a week and the piranas have been DEAD. Tday I ate some bread and and pineapple and the piranas have been having a party. Interestingly enough I have always had serious issues with PMT as you describe and often feel down and sluggish when eating these high fructose foods. So, I am so releived to have an answer to the issues. I have sent away for cooking book with low frutcose diet in it but will be hard to cross reference that with low FODMAP as well. Talk again some time maybe. Thank for your wonderful Blog.

  8. Adrian Pfeffer

    OMG, I am so happy to have found you, and wish I did last September when I was diagnosed, after 20 years of suffering. For those of us affected, it’s nice to find someplace to finally get some answers. I have never felt better, and admit, I’ve been entirely serious about maintaining zero fructose and minimal fructans. In the process, I’ve lost 36 lbs, and besides feeling great, am looking like I saw myself in my minds eye. (well almost, I didn’t get any taller!)

    I have to admit, adhereing to a strict diet was not very difficult for me. What was difficult was obtaining information on the condition. There is so much conflicting information, after getting my system to settle down, I started introducing one food at a time. I had abstained from my beloved pasta, but have found that gluten free white rice pasta makes me a happy girl. I have also used some prepared pasta sauces, BUT, only the more expensive ones seems to not use tomato paste or have problem additives.

    It is expensive maintaining this diet, and does require thinking and reading at the grocery store, but worth it. I am enjoying life without pain or spending hours in the WC.

    Thanks for the additional information. I’ll be checking regularly.

  9. Hi Avthompson,

    Your story basically has opened my eyes, i’ve been dealing with stomach problems all my life and have been tracking it too Ibs, Lactose intolerance, Wheat allergy and so on for years.

    Until recently I did a elimination diet, and started to notice that none of the above was true but fructose. I had no idea what it was a week ago and there is little to no info on it.

    But i’ve been trying what you said and wow the difference is amazing. But I keep messing up. Is there an email i can contact you at to get more into detail?

    Please email me or anything, thanks.

Leave a Reply

